Kelly Hughes Iverson

Ms. Iverson is a partner in the firm whose practice is devoted to the defense of claims for professional malpractice and product liability. She represents numerous community hospitals, academic medical centers and individual health care practitioners in a wide array of medical and nursing specialties in professional malpractice claims. Ms. Iverson has also represented manufacturers in claims alleging injury from defective products and environmental clients in claims alleging toxic exposure to lead and mold.

Clients call upon her for all aspects of case management, including development of case strategy and trial. Ms. Iverson handles appellate practice, including both written appellate briefs and the presentation of oral argument to the appellate courts. She has represented appellate litigants, and clients have engaged her to write amicus briefs. Ms. Iverson frequently presents to health care providers and hospitals on the topic of medical malpractice litigation. 

Ms. Iverson is active in state and local bar association activities. She is currently the President of the Bar Association of Baltimore City, and chair of the Maryland Pattern Jury Instructions - Civil Subcommittee for the Maryland State Bar Association. She has also chaired the Judicial Selections Committee for the Bar Association of Baltimore City and served as the president of the Baltimore Bar Foundation, Inc.


Professional Experience

Show All
  • Partner  (2001 - Present) – Goodell, DeVries, Leech & Dann, LLP
  • Associate – Goodell DeVries (1994 - 2000)
  • Judicial Law Clerk – Court of Appeals of Maryland, The Honorable Robert L. Karwacki (1993 - 1994)
  • Legislative Director (1992 - 1993) and Legislative Staff (1987 - 1991) for Member of United States Congress - Honorable Bill Emerson, United States House of Representatives (MO-8)
  • Professional Associations

  • American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA)
  • Maryland State Bar Association
  • Bar Association of Baltimore City (President, 2018-2019)
  • Baltimore Bar Foundation (President, 2016-2017, Trustee, 2010-Present)
  • The Defense Research Institute
  • Maryland Defense Counsel, Inc.
  • D.C. Defense Lawyers' Association
  • Maryland Society for Healthcare Risk Management (MSHRM)
  • Barristers Law Club (President, 2012 - 2013)
  • Baltimore County Bar Association
  • American Bar Association


Representative Matters

Show All
  • Streaker v. Boushehri, 230 Md. App. 101, 146 A.3d 605 (2016) (affirming trial court’s exclusion of  OB/GYN expert Lawrence Borow, M.D. for failure to satisfy “20% Rule”)
  • Gilbert v. Miodovnik, 990 A.2d 983 (D.C. 2010) (affirming summary judgment for obstetrician medical director of birthing center who owed no legal duty to patient of nurse midwife)
  • Anderson v. USAA Ins. Co., 221 F.R.D 250 (D.D.C. 2004) (dismissing a claim of negligent misrepresentation for failure to plead sufficiently)
  • Johnson v. District of Columbia, 728 A.2d 70 (D.C. 1999) (affirming summary judgment on strict liability claims and directed verdict for the defendant on negligence claims against manufacturer of water heater control)
  • Lemon v. Stewart, 682 A.2d 1177, certdenied, 686 A.2d 635 (Md. App. 1996) (refusing to recognize a cause of action by third-party non-patients against a health care provider for failure to diagnose HIV/AIDS in a family member)
  • Dorman v. Defendant (OB/GYN) (US District Court for District of Maryland) (defense verdict for doctor in case alleging Erb's palsy following shoulder dystocia)
  • Bobrov v. Defendant Gastroenterologist (Baltimore City) (defense verdict for doctor and hospital in claim alleging death from esophageal perforation)
  • Arroyo v. Defendant Gastroenterologist (Baltimore County) (defense verdict for doctor following perforation of bowel and death following placement of PEG tube)
  • Ennalsv. Defendant Surgeon (Dorchester County) (defense verdict for surgeon following perforation of bowel after hernia repair)
  • Woodard v. Defendant OB/GYN group (Baltimore City) (defense verdict for obstetricians in claim following neonatal death)
  • Eskandary v. Defendant OB/GYN group (Montgomery County) (defense verdict for obstetricians in case with brain-damaged infant)
  • Joy v. Defendant OB/GYN  (Anne Arundel County) (defense verdict for gynecologist in case alleging vesicovaginal fistula following hysterectomy)
  • Davis v. Defendant Hospital (Superior Court of District of Columbia) (defense verdict for hospital and physicians in case alleging spinal cord injury following endoscopic procedure)
  • Edwards v. Defendant Surgeon (Charles County) (defense verdict for surgeon in claim alleging loss of employment following physician’s alleged failure to assess disability)
  • Crossley v. Defendant Geriatrician (Montgomery County) (defense verdict for geriatrician in claim by family of elderly woman who died in nursing home)
  • Seiser v. Defendant Hospital (Baltimore County) (defense verdict in claim alleging failure to diagnose appendicitis timely)
  • Disney v. Defendant OB/GYN (Anne Arundel County) (defense verdict in claim alleging Asperger’s syndrome caused by alleged failure to prevent premature delivery)
  • Graves v. Defendant Hospital (Baltimore City) (defense verdict in claim alleging failure to diagnose and treat fracture properly)
  • Alexander v. Defendant Control Manufacturer (District of Columbia) (defense verdict for manufacturer of water heater controls in case involving scalding from tap water)


Honors and Awards

  • Best Lawyers - Product Liability Litigation- Defendants (2019)
  • Chambers & Partners - Healthcare: Medical Malpractice (Maryland), Band 2 (2018)
  • Top 50 Women Attorneys in Maryland (2018)
  • Leadership in Law Award, The Daily Record (2016)
  • AV Preeminent Rated, Martindale-Hubbell
  • Maryland Super Lawyers - Medical Malpractice (2012 - 2018)
  • Best Lawyers (Product Liability Litigation- Defendants) 2018
  • Marquis Who's Who in the World
  • Marquis Who's Who in American Law
  • Marquis Who's Who in America
  • Marquis Who's Who of American Women
  • National Moot Court Team - University of Maryland School of Law (1992)
  • G. Ridgely Sappington Award for Best Work in Civil Procedure - University of Maryland School of Law (1989 - 1990)